Facebook is one of the largest and most popular social…
Facebook is one of the largest and most popular social media platforms. It allows its users to share their updates, pictures, and videos with the world. If you’re asking, how can I delete Facebook, you’re in the right place.
This article is a step-by-step guide on how to delete your Facebook account. It also helps you understand the difference between deactivating and deleting a Facebook Account.
Deactivating vs. Deleting A Facebook Account
Facebook deactivation is when a user takes a break and temporarily withdraws from the platform. With deactivation, a Facebook user can return to the same account in the future.
Deletion permanently removes an account from Facebook.
What Happens When You Deactivate Your Account
When you deactivate your Facebook account, Facebook users will be unable to see, search for or go to your Facebook profile. Your posts, photos, and videos will remain intact but invisible to others. However, you’ll still be able to use Facebook Messenger.
The conversations you’ve had with people will remain intact and people can still search you by name to send a message.
The pages you solely control will also be deactivated. People wouldn’t be able to see or find such pages when they search for it. If you want to deactivate your account but keep the page you manage intact, you’ll need to give someone else control of it.
What Happens When You Delete Facebook
Deleting an account is a permanent act. Your Facebook profile and private data, including photos and posts, will be cleared permanently. You’ll be unable to use Facebook Messenger, but the messages you sent to friends may still be visible to them.
The pages you alone manage will also be deleted. To keep such pages intact, you’ll need to give someone else control of them. After you delete an account, you cannot reactivate it. If you wish to return to Facebook, you will have to create a new Facebook account.
It may take up to 90 days from when the request is made to clear all your data. This allows for the cancellation of the request if you change your mind. However, you can only cancel the request within 30 days of initiating the action. After this period, you won’t be able to access the platform or retrieve any information.
How Can I Delete Facebook?
Follow these easy steps to delete your Facebook account.
- From your profile, click the ‘Menu’ button on the top right of Facebook.
- Select “Settings and Privacy,” then click Settings.
- Under ‘Account’ choose “Personal and Account Information.”
- Select “Account Ownership and Control” from the list.
- Choose “Deactivation and Deletion.”
- Select “Delete Account” and click ‘continue.’
- You may select why you’re deleting your account from the list of options or click “Continue to Account Deletion.”
- Click “Delete Account.”
- Enter your password and click continue.
Before you delete your account, Facebook recommends downloading a copy of your information. You’ll see the option “Download Your Information” before you click the “Delete Account” button.
Another way to download your information is by following these steps:
- Click the ‘menu’ button in the top right corner of your Facebook page.
- Select Settings and Privacy, then click Settings.
- Scroll to “Your Information” and click “access your information.”
- Scroll to the end and click “Download Your Information.”
To Wrap Up
Facebook is one of the most popular social media platforms out there. If you need to take a break or have restricted access, you can do so by following a couple of easy steps. This step-by-step guide answers the question: how can I delete Facebook.
Frequently asked questions
What happens when you delete your Facebook account?
What happens if I permanently delete my Facebook account? Your profile, photos, posts, videos, and everything else you’ve added will be permanently deleted. Nothing you have added will not be able to be retrieved. Facebook Messenger will no longer work for you.
Does Facebook delete inactive accounts 2022?
Facebook doesn’t delete or disable accounts just because they’re inactive. Do it yourself if you want to delete your account. No matter how long you aren’t logged in, your Facebook account will remain active.
How do I log into my old Facebook account?
- See the profile of the account you would like to recover.
- Below is the cover photo.
- Select Support or report profiles.
- Click Next when you get to Something Else.
- Follow the steps below to restore your account.
How do I delete my Facebook account 2022?
Click “Settings” in the drop-down menu at the top right corner to open the menu. In “Your Facebook Information,” click on “Deactivation or deletion.” Choose “Permanently delete your account” and click “Continue.”.
How do you know if Facebook account is deactivated or deleted?
The first thing you can do is send them a private message on Facebook to check if they are still active. If you search through their Facebook profile and see their profile and you can still message them, your account hasn’t been deleted.
Is Facebook getting deleted?
Update 3 (November 09) Mark Zuckerberg’s latest post suggests Facebook isn’t going anywhere any time soon. Shared on Facebook was a picture of special cookies from Facebook becoming Meta.
How do I delete Facebook from my iPhone 11?
You can use your iPhone to delete Facebook, too. Account Ownership and Control > Deactivation and Deletion > Delete Account.
How do I completely delete my Facebook account?
- Download Facebook on your Android device.
- Three-lined icon (hamburger menu) appears.
- Tap Settings & Privacy
- Tap Settings
- Control over your account.
- Deactivation and deletion are available.
- Tap Delete Account
- Discard your Facebook app as well.
How do I delete Facebook from my laptop 2022?
How can I remove my Facebook account from Gmail?
Tap on Facebook in the top right. Open Settings and scroll down. Tap Personal Information, then Tap Contact Info in the Account Settings section. Click on the email address you want to remove, then tap Remove.
What does a deactivated Facebook account look like?
You won’t be able to check their profile because the links revert to plain text. You won’t be able to click on the link to posts they posted on your timeline.
How do I deactivate Facebook in June 2022?
- You can access that page at the top right of Facebook.
- Tap Settings & Privacy, and then click Settings.
- Please enter your personal and account information.
- Control over an account.
- Deactivation and deletion
What happens when I deactivate my Facebook account?
If your profile, photos, videos or every other thing you have added is permanently deleted, they will be deleted. Facebook Messenger will no longer work for you. It is forbidden for you to use your Facebook login for other apps you may have signed up for via your Facebook account, such as Spotify or Instagram.
How do you delete Facebook on mobile?
- Go to your device’s settings and open your app manager.
- Tap Facebook
- Tap Uninstall
Can I use Messenger if I deactivate Facebook?
You can continue using Messenger after deactivating your Facebook account. If you deactivated your Facebook account, using Messenger will not reactivate it, and your Facebook friends will still be able to message you.