If you’re googling “how to deactivate my Facebook account,” you’re…
If you’re googling “how to deactivate my Facebook account,” you’re at the right spot. We have broken down the process of deactivating a Facebook account in a few simple steps.
Whether you want a temporary or permanent break from Facebook, you can deactivate and delete your account in just a few clicks. However, you need to make sure what you intend to do and understand the steps correctly so that you don’t lose any valuable information.
Want to Deactivate or Delete Your Account?
Deactivating your Facebook account is temporary. After you deactivate your account, all your photos, posts, and friends will be hidden from anyone trying to view your profile.
No one can message you or send you a friend request. However, your messages are visible to their recipients. You can retain all your information by simply reactivating your account at any time.
If you plan to delete your account, save any information you need later because all the data will be erased. From photos to posts and status updates, everything would be permanently deleted.
Once you delete your account, you cannot access Facebook unless you create a new account. You also cannot use Facebook Messenger.
How to Deactivate My Facebook Account?
It’s simple to deactivate your account on Facebook if you decide you no longer want to use it. Your complete Facebook profile is hidden when you deactivate your account.
Whatever your reason for deactivating your account, you must make sure you do it right. Here are the steps to deactivate your Facebook account from a browser or mobile device.
Deactivate Facebook Account From a Browser
- Open Facebook on your browser.
- Click the drop-down menu in the top right corner of your screen.
- Click on Settings & Privacy, then select Settings.
- Go to your Facebook Information option.
- Click on Deactivation and Deletion.
- Select Deactivate Account
- Hit Continue to Account Deactivation.
- Enter your Password to deactivate your Facebook account.
Deactivate Facebook Account From Mobile Devices
- Launch Facebook App on your Android or iPhone.
- Tap on the three-lined hamburger menu.
- Tap on the Setting & Privacy option.
- Select Settings.
- Tap Account Ownership and Control.
- Select Deactivation and Deletion.
- Tap Deactivate account.
How to Delete Your Facebook Account?
Deleting your Facebook is the best way to end your account if you want it gone for good. This will permanently erase your personal data and content from your profile.
The steps to deleting your Facebook account are the same as deactivating an account. The only difference is to select ‘Delete Account’ in Step 6 instead of ‘Deactivate Account,’ and your account will be removed permanently.
Can You Recover a Deleted Account?
According to Facebook, it takes up to 90 days from the day of the deletion request for all the posts to be deleted entirely. It may even keep some data in backup storage as part of its data policy for purely legal reasons.
In addition, it provides a 30-day grace period after the deletion of your account in case someone needs to restore a deleted account. Here’s how to cancel the deletion of your account within 30 days:
- Log in to your Facebook account.
- Click Cancel Deletion.
You may no longer want your personal information shown to the world or wish to take a temporary break from social media.
If you decide to deactivate or delete your Facebook account for good, it’s important to know the procedure correctly. This article covers the steps involved in safely deactivating or deleting your Facebook account.
Frequently asked questions
What happens when you deactivate Facebook?
What if I delete my Facebook account permanently? This includes your profile, photos, posts, videos, and everything else you’ve added. You will not be able to retrieve anything you have added. Facebook Messenger will no longer be accessible.
Is it better to delete or deactivate Facebook account?
Simply put, if you want to stop using Facebook for good, delete it. On the other hand, if you prefer a temporary social media detox, deactivate your account. In fact, your friends and followers will only see your previously sent messages once you deactivate your account.
What should I do before deactivating Facebook?
You should download a copy of your account information before deleting your account so you do not lose all your posts. Especially the case if you want to save photos or posts from friends.
What happens when you deactivate Facebook 2022?
If you delete your Facebook account, friends will not see your account on their timeline or when searching for you. However, your messages with old friends will still be visible in their chatbox.
How long does it take to deactivate Facebook?
Your account and all your personal information will be permanently deleted after 30 days, and you won’t be able to retrieve your information. Once the deletion process is completed, all your posts may be deleted within 90 days.
What will my friends see if I deactivate Facebook?
Unless you ask your friends to search for your now-deactivated profile or request you in the real world, they won’t know you’ve deactivated your account.
Can someone hack your Facebook account if it’s deactivated?
A hacker’s Facebook account deactivation can open your account to hackers. Account deletion removes all content from Facebook accounts, but account deactivation keeps Facebook accounts on hold.
Can I be tagged if I deactivate?
What happens to Facebook photos when you deactivate or delete Facebook; the same happens to any photos you tag in Facebook. The removal of your account does not affect other people’s.
How long can you deactivate Facebook 2022?
You can save your data and then delete your data or select “Delete Account.” Enter your password and click “Continue.”. If you change your mind, you can log back in and cancel the process.
Is it safe to deactivate your Facebook?
If you stop using a social networking profile or website, it is a good idea to deactivate or delete your account. If that happens, your content will no longer be visible online and should not be searched online. A hacked account will also reduce the risk of others using or hacking these accounts without you knowing.
How do I deactivate my Facebook account without losing everything?
- Use your browser to login to Facebook.
- After tapping the down arrow at the top of the page, choose Settings.
- The panel on the left gives you the option to select your Facebook information.
- View next to Deactivation and deletion.
- Select ‘Deactivate account’
- Continue to deactivate your account.
Why you should not delete Facebook?
- 1. Keep in Touch With Facebook.
- 7. Feeling loved on Facebook is possible.
- 3. Facebook Can Help Your Mental Health.
- 5. You can get in touch with Facebook within seconds.
- You can land a job with Facebook.
- 4. Your Love Life is supported by Facebook.
- 6. Creating a support group through Facebook.
What does a deactivated Facebook look like?
Your Facebook account will not be able to check because all the links are gone to plain text. The posts that they have made will still exist, but you will not be able to click on their names.
Can I reactivate my Facebook account after 2 years?
You can reactivate your account at any time by logging into Facebook or using your Facebook account to log into another account. Remember that you should have access to the email or mobile number you used to log in.
How long can I leave my Facebook account deactivated before it’s deleted?
Facebook waits 14 days before deactivating its account. However, if a Facebook user wants to make the separation permanent, she may decide to delete the account altogether.